Alright already! My famous Berry Lemon Oatmeal Cookie recipe, eat your hearts out people

Today I made my favorite cookies. Alright, alright EVERYONE’s favorite cookies! No seriously though I have NEVER made these cookies without receiving rave reviews.  You have someone you want to impress; boyfriend, girlfriend, your boss, your in-laws, yourself??  

Make.these.cookies.period! 

I have made them several ways but to date this was my absolute BEST batch! 

I call them berry lemon because you can use craisins (dried sweetened cranberries) or dried blueberries.  A few weeks ago my pal Sophie gave me a giant gallon size bag of dried blueberries and I have been wondering what to do with them. Then I had a moment of inspiration.  Pure genius! Add them to my lemon oatmeal cookie recipe…..of course why didn’t I think of it sooner!  Mr. Carnivore and junior carnivore are huge blueberry fan’s so I was sure to impress them. 

Without further ado here is my much guarded recipe, now you can make em’ yourself people!

Berry Lemon Oatmeal Cookies 4 dozen

1 cup butter…NO you can’t use margarine fools!

3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs (large)

1 tsp vanilla

1 small/medium lemon zested

1 1/2 cup flour (I usually use whole wheat but all purpose works too, same measurements)

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3 cups whole rolled oats

1 cup dried cranberries or blueberries (optional, I say this because these cookies rock even without any dried fruit!)

Icing

Juice of 1 small/medium lemon

1 1/2 cup powdered sugar


Directions

1.) Preheat oven to 350′

2.) Beat sugars and butter until creamy.  Add eggs, vanilla and beat well. You want the mixture to be pale yellow and fluffy: don’t shortcut this step it’s the difference between ok cookies and greatness, should take about 3 to 5 min! If you are using a stand mixer you will want to scrape the bottom with a rubber spatula to make sure that there isn’t any butter & or sugar clinging to the bottom.  Once you’ve done that mix another minute or so to make sure that everything is well mixed.

3.) In a separate bowl mix the flour, baking soda and salt until combined. Add flour mix to the butter and sugars along with the lemon zest and dried fruit mix until just combined.

4.) Add the oats being careful to mix just until the oat are incorporated. Don’t over do it!

5.) Scoop and bake 8-10 min depending on the size and your oven.  Start at 8 min though, just for good measure.

6.) Cool cookies. Prepare icing while cookies are baking/cooling.

 Icing prep: Whisk the juice of your 1 lemon and 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar together.  If your lemon isn’t very juicy add a touch of milk…just a little, seriously!  You want your icing to drizzle but not be soupy.  The technical term for it is the “ribbon stage”  when the beater or whisk is lifted, the icing falls slowly back onto the surface of the mixture, forming a ribbonlike pattern that, after a few seconds, sinks back into the batter. Once you have your icing mixed up to the desired thickness pour it into a small zipper bag (hot tip:set your zipper bag into a small cup and pull the bag out over the edges so it doesn’t fall in on itself, the pour in the icing).  Once the cookies are cool cut a small hole in the corner of your zipper bag and drizzle cookies with icing.  

I usualy set up some parchment paper, wax paper or a paper bag with all the cookies lined up and just ice on that so when I’m through I can just toss the paper, no mess!

Image

Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Alright already! My famous Berry Lemon Oatmeal Cookie recipe, eat your hearts out people

Leave a Reply

