My latest obsession

Hey there strangers!  I’ve been a terrible host lately, not posting any great new recipes for you to feast your eyes (and tummies) on.  What can I say…life got busy!  Mr. Carnivore is training to run Hood to Coast so my life has been about working around his running schedule and whipping him up tons of food to keep up his energy all while managing 2 bakeries(with the big boss out of town) and keeping a two and a half year old entertained.  Needless to say, my house is a disaster and I don’t look my best…there are new gray hairs sprouting by the second! I will share a few links to recipes that have been rocking my world lately though:

Lentil Cauliflower Salad

http://goodthingsgrow.com/cauliflower-lentil-salad-with-crispy-lemon-zest-carrots/

Chickpea Feta and Parsley Salad

http://simpleprovisions.com.au/2012/07/09/chickpea-feta-and-parsley-salad/

Kale and Black Bean Burritos

http://cookieandkate.com/2012/simple-kale-and-black-bean-burritos/

Hoisin Pork with Rice Noodles

http://pinchofyum.com/hoisin-pork-with-rice-noodles

Anyways, these are our family faves lately that have been getting RAVE reviews!  My Carnivore has discovered that he really doesn’t mind a vegetarian dinner a few times a week…I may be in danger of needing to find a new nickname for him!! His faves are those Kale and Black Bean burritos from Cookie and Kate. So I hope that while I haven’t been able to take many photo’s of my own food and blog about those that these links can keep your pallet satisfied for a few weeks until this Summer madness is OVER!

Oh ans here is a link to the granola bars I’ve been cranking our for Mr. Carnivore to fuel his mid morning and late afternoon snack attacks!  Super easy and delicious.

Coconut Quinoa Granola Bars

http://www.superhealthykids.com/blog-posts/quinoa-coconut-granola-bars.php

I don’t use chocolate chips in these when I make them because I can’t stand chocolate and peanut butter together….shoot now I’ve done it!  I spilled the beans! You’re going to stop reading my blog now that you’ve found out my dark secret.  It’s true, chocolate and peanut butter just does not appeal to me, it’s too rich. Well now you know and you can decide if we can still be friends.  I just opt for dried fruit instead of the chips and they are GREAT!  Sometimes I can even squirrel a few away for myself before Mr. Carnivore steals them all away.

So that’s my life for now.  I hope you enjoy the recipe links and try a few of the recipes, they are ALL great but my advice..start with the cauliflower salad and the kale burritos.  Simple, cheap, full of flavor and nutrients… you can’t really go wrong.

Until we meet again.

2 thoughts on “My latest obsession

  1. UMMMM hoisin-pork noodles are happening!! Sounds amazing. Love having links to the recipes I get to hear about! Especially those granola bars. And OH MAN that cauliflower salad rocked my world. You made it so pretty with that yellow cauliflower! You rule

Leave a Reply

